Project Atius Update #9 Interview with Debora Paul and Lynette Wu.

Hello and welcome. Today I have a special double interview for you guys. I’m going to be talking to two of our modelers, Debora Paul and Lynette Wu. Obviously the visual styling is a lot of what makes Project Atius so compelling so let’s get underway.

 So, what are some of the major assets you’ve been asked to create for Project Atius?

LW: I’ve been working mainly on environment assets like the pillar platforms in the final boss fight, the weapon and more trees and pillars. I’ve also started working on the meditation throne for Wisdom.

DP: I’ve mostly been working on the character up to this point, but I’m moving on to environment assets now which is a nice change of pace.

Cool, so Debora you modeled the main character right? Where there any particular difficulties in that?

DP: Yes, I did work on Atira. There weren’t many major difficulties. Just numerous small things like deadline changes caused by the animator conundrum and the small confusion about Atira’s midriff. Mariel set me right though. I originally modeled her with an exposed midriff, but the sweater was supposed to be continued. In hind sight that made more sense. Where would all those layers she’s wearing go? It was interesting to see how wrong my mind can be especially when I’m looking at the concept for so long.

I’ll take your word for it, I know nothing about modeling. So Lynette, you are currently working on Wisdom’s meditation throne thing. How’s that coming along?

LW: Its coming along fine, as this is somewhat a hero asset and does not need to be animated, I’d have not as strict a polygon count limit to adhere to and that would help greatly in making sure the asset in the game looks close to the concept and the sculpt I created in zbrush. Sana did a really nice concept for it and hopefully my final model would do it justice.

 

Last question. How do you guys feel about the overall artistic direction of Project Atius?

 

LW: The art direction is actually the main reason that drew me to the project in the first place, the stylized forms, colors work really well for the setting of the game. Our concept artists did a really good job in creating cohesive designs for the environments and characters. Also having Mariel painting most of the textures further unifies the look of the game. Also I could recognize influences from Thomas Scholes who is one of my favorite environment concept artists.

DP: Mariel’s concepts were the hook for me too. I love all references to nature to create the fantasy realm. The real world is weird already and I love using unique parts of natural world in my works as well. That and the lines there are some really sexy lines in the concepts.

Thanks for taking the time to chat with me guys, I really appreciate it. Stay tuned for more updates and as always thanks for paying us a visit.

Cheers,

Robert

Leave a comment